• Research School Network

IEE funds seven new innovation evaluation grants to improve pupil achievement

The Institute for Effective Education (IEE) is pleased to announce that it has awarded Research Schools Network Innovation Evaluation Grants to a further seven projects, bringing the total number of innovation evaluation projects currently funded to 16.

The Research Schools Network Innovation Evaluation Grants are available to schools that are working closely with the Research Schools Network. They are awarded by the IEE to provide funding for pilot evaluations of innovations in teaching and learning approaches.

The new projects chosen to receive a Research Schools Network Innovation Evaluation Grant are:

  • Hyper-correction in reading, led by Ocker Hill Academy, Sandwell

  • Times table fluency, led by Underwood West Academy, Crewe

  • Knowledge Organisers in Year 8 English lessons, led by Claremont High School Academy, Harrow

  • Desk cycles, led by Crescent Academy, Stoke-on-Trent

  • Retrieval practice, led by Old Hill Primary School, Cradley Heath

  • Mastery English, led by Notre Dame High School, Sheffield

  • Fine motor skills and writing in Early Years Foundation Stage, led by Poplleton Ousebank Primary School, York

The IEE now accepting applications for the next round of Innovation Evaluation grants

and are inviting applications from schools that are already working with Research Schools to apply for funding to carry out evaluations of innovative teaching and learning practices. More information on how to apply can be found in the call document and Innovation Evaluation Handbook.

The deadline for applications is 17:00 on Friday 2 March 2018.

For an informal conversation about any aspects of your proposal, please contact either the Research Lead at your local Research School, or Alicia Shaw, Research Schools Facilitator, at the Institute for Effective Education (01904 328108,

Shotton Hall Research School

The Academy at Shotton Hall

Passfield Way


County Durham



0191 518 0222

© 2019 Research Schools Network